Its normal, right? RIGHT!? a noobs dready q's ....

A_Fabey

Its normal, right? RIGHT!? a noobs dready q's ....

Post by A_Fabey » Fri Sep 30, 2011 6:46 am

Hello! Im a newbie at synthetic dreads! I decided to make my own dreads for the first time, after seeing how amazing they are and being so jealous of lots of folks who have them! Well, I made 90 (with 2 extra) SE dreads. Just browns and blondes to start with, mostly something that matches my natural dark brown hair. well, took me a WHILE. Like ... 3 days non~stop. I had a fellow piercist put in my dreads for me 3 days ago, and man! were they HEAVY!!! I got a huge headache, but the 2nd day was a breeze. HOWEVER!! .... Dun, dun, dun ....

I feel like maybe they have loosened TOO much?? When I made them I was paranoid about them becoming unravelled, so I went over every dread numberous times (3 exactly) with the damp cloth and flat iron. They feel slightly "poofy" closer to the braid but remain tight (and slightly burnt extra crispy :roll: ) towards the bottom. should i be concerned about them unravelling? or are they simply loosening up in a "natural" way?

poxabomination

Re: Its normal, right? RIGHT!? a noobs dready q's ....

Post by poxabomination » Fri Sep 30, 2011 1:19 pm

They do loosen up a bit when you sleep on them and wear them around, and especially since they're your first dreads they might not be backcombed enough.. it would help to show us a picture if you could :) But yeah, they do loosen up, its kind of inevitable with all that squishing and moving around, but they shouldn't loosen up so much that they loose their shape and unravel or look weird.
"Distant beavers sound the alarm"

"Its not stylish if you look witty."

A_Fabey

Post by A_Fabey » Fri Sep 30, 2011 3:43 pm

Oh ok! I will try and post a pic, but im new to this forum thing. but i will give it a go.

A_Fabey

Post by A_Fabey » Fri Sep 30, 2011 4:36 pm