Getting my hair dreaded for the first time! Advice pls?

CandySecretion

Getting my hair dreaded for the first time! Advice pls?

Post by CandySecretion » Fri Dec 30, 2011 10:31 pm

It's been a while since my last post and I'm happy to say that I'll be getting my hair knotted up Monday! I'm really excited as I've been contemplating taking the plunge for many years, and despite people trying to sway me in my decision I'm finally making the commitment :] I've taught a school friend how I'd like her to do it (backcombing & palm rolling), I've also let her dread up one of my mannequin heads and she did really well! I'm so proud lol. Anyway, theres just a few things I'd like to ask you lovely ladies with experience in the natural dread department as this will be my first time :D

1- I'm wondering what type of sectioning would be the best (I was thinking a bricklay pattern)?
2- My hair is currently an inch or two below my shoulders, with grown out layers mainly in the back of my head (grown out terribly cut graduation) would this really affect the outcome of my dreads?
3- I'm a smoker & I plan on shampooing my dreads rather frequently. ATM I shampoo 1-2 times a week (my hair becomes dry if I do it more than that) Would it be okay to shampoo them once a week? Or would every 2 weeks be better? I'll be using a clarifying shampoo. Should I water that down a bit? & how exactly would you go about washing them, focus more on the scalp area or the entire length of the dread?
4- How do most of you go about drying them? I've seen a few people say they whip their hair around lol I've seen some say when they sleep they lay them out above their head to let them dry overnight but wouldn't the water sit there, usually when I boil dreads they'll stay wet longer if they're horizontal then if they were hanging vertically. Could I use a blow dryer maybe?