3 stems switch hairpiece ???

Nessdufrat

3 stems switch hairpiece ???

Post by Nessdufrat » Mon Jun 11, 2012 5:36 pm

Hi!
I'm a total newbie on the subject of hair extension, but I've done a bit of research, because I'd like to make a switch hairpiece, 3 stems if possible.
I got an awesome braid of virgin hair a while ago, and I've looked into having a swift made from it, but some people told me it's more expensive than to buy one already made. I actually have one, a beautiful 3 stems natural hair 27" long ponytail, but it's too heavy for me (I guess natural hair is NOT human hair, but maybe something else, like horse hair, or... Anyway, it's very heavy and the hair seems quite thick. It's awesome, but I don't think I can wear it for too long, it would damage my already crappy hair. (BTW, is it possible to color natural hair with coloring shampoo ? Not permanent dye, but the kind that goes away after 8 shampoos ?)).
So I'd like to learn how to make one. It's crazy, I know, but then I'm a quite crazy person, and I have a LOT of time to kill these next few months (I'm sick, so I can't work, and staying all day long in front of the TV is not an option anymore, I'm getting bored to death). I searched everywhere on the internet (that's how I found this forum) and I could find instructions on how to weft hair, how to make a wig, how to make lots of stuff, but I couldn't find a single piece of information on how to do a switch hairpiece. It would be a three stem, as the braid is really very dense (I haven't weighed it, but I would say at least 200g if not more).
I found the book about wig making for theaters and that's how I found out how to make wigs and weft hair, but there is like 3 lines on how to make a switch, with so little intructions I can't figure out anything. I tried looking at my hairpiece and figuring it out, but no luck there...
Anybody could give me some advice ?

LittlePinkFaery

Re: 3 stems switch hairpiece ???