Wool texture help please~

Skybluepinky14

Wool texture help please~

Post by Skybluepinky14 » Wed Mar 16, 2011 6:41 pm

I found a cute little yarn shop in my city and bought this beautiful green wool, but it seems to have a very different texture than the wool that I've seen people use here. It also seems much thinner than the wool I've seen around.

The wool I have says 60% New Zealand Wool, 20% domestic wool. There was no merino wool at the store.

I was wondering if anyone has experience with wool like this and could give me some tips. :3

Thanks for looking~ :D

Skybluepinky14

Re: Wool texture help please~

Post by Skybluepinky14 » Wed Mar 16, 2011 7:07 pm

Oh, and the woman I talked to directed me to this when I asked for wool to wet felt. :3

Phoenix

Post by Phoenix » Wed Mar 16, 2011 7:16 pm

I'm not a wool expert but the reason Merino wool is so popular is because it felts relatively easily and is soft to the touch. It's possible to make dreads out of other wools; I know Corriedale has been used before. While I cannot help you directly with the texture of the wool or it's ability to felt, you will end up with very skinny dreads because of it's thickness.

MrsEss

Post by MrsEss » Wed Mar 16, 2011 7:22 pm

yep, the only thing you can do is try it.

various wools felt though, Vixen sings black put a lovely wooly FAQ together, you should read that ;)
*~*~*~*~*Saaaaaaspie-doo-be-doo-bedooooo is awwwwweeesoooooome*~*~*~*~*-ScarletLady

Socially awkward since 1982
Decimation Fashion
Tumblr
Formerly known as DreadstarMonstar

Skybluepinky14

Post by Skybluepinky14 » Wed Mar 16, 2011 7:38 pm

Gracias. :3 I read it before I posted, but I didn't see anything for New Zealand wool. I also figured someone might be able to tell from looking at it what kind it was.

But yeah, I'm planning on throwing some palmrolled pieces into the washing machine soon. :3
I'll post to show how they turn out.

MrsEss

Post by MrsEss » Wed Mar 16, 2011 7:47 pm